Poem for My Voice by Rachel Bunting

When I was young, I held it
in my own cupped hands.
It was beautiful and thin,

lighter than—what? Air?
Feathers? Leaves? Yes, all
of these. Raucous as a crow.

Hot against my palms
it glowed in the dark like
a giant firefly. Blinking.

I could sing myself to sleep.
I swallowed it without thought,
a bitter mouthful. It burned

going down, a rope sliding
against the back of the throat.
I have learned not to choke

on it. If you reach into my
mouth to take it, don’t think
I won’t bite.

2 responses to “Poem for My Voice by Rachel Bunting

  1. Pingback: new poem « Rachel Bunting

  2. Great twist at the end. Thank you, peace,

    Diane

Leave a Reply

