Yehuda Amichai’s Cat Speaks by Robert Peake


He sits like that, at the window,
sometimes all day, drumming
his fingers, then gathering

the silence up to himself
like a blanket under which
he might take a nap.

His eyes are always open.

I climb up his leg and circle,
flattening the field of his lap.

When he sighs, the great lion-
body trembles, and I don’t know whether
to dig in my claws, or flee.

Outside, dust is blowing
through the brick-oven streets.

Sometimes, I rest my chin on his hand,
to make sure he knows I am there.

One response to “Yehuda Amichai’s Cat Speaks by Robert Peake

  1. Pingback: Poem Online at PoetSpeak | Robert Peake

Leave a Reply

