Emily Dickinson’s Tree by Julie Jordan Scott

Shadow paints the grass, darker
Locks itself inside the grey
which whispers insistently “stay small”

I wonder, sometimes, what would have happened
If you had let yourself out more?
Would your specialness have been vacuumed

from your words or would it have been
magnified? We’ll never know, of course.
But I sit beside this tree, one of

your trees and I stare into the
shadow it leaves and I think
about you

Check out the Contributors page for an explanation of the poem and to learn more about Julie.

One response to “Emily Dickinson’s Tree by Julie Jordan Scott

  1. You’ve mentioned that before…what if she’d been ‘out there’ more. Her solitude has always been a large part of the gift for me…what she saw, felt, WAS in the seemingly tiny world of hers was huge, magnificent. She didn’t need more…a lesson for me. Not where you are, but what you are where you are. For me, her world was big enough.

Leave a Reply

